About BoldlyGo Academy

BoldlyGo Academy, the education & public outreach arm of BoldlyGo Institute, inspires and engages future generations of scientists and engineers. Using actual space missions such as Project BlueSCIM, and TropSat as a backdrop, our goal is to spark a lifelong curiosity and interest in STE(A)M. Our programs and support includes:

  • K-12 STE(A)M based curricula designed to develop future generations of scientists and engineers through interesting state-of-the-art space science

  • Undergraduate, graduate, and post-graduate experiential research support, directly involving students in actual BoldlyGo Institute mission research

  • "SpaceBites," an original digital publication for consumers featuring original videos and editorials with mission astronomers, astrophysicists, and scientists as well as notable industry leaders

BoldlyGo Institute management and board of directors include current and former NASA and flight program leaders, a university president, National Academy of Science Committee members (GUIR/Space Science Board), and entrepreneurs.

  • Key organization partnerships include SETI Institute, UMass Lowell

  • Sponsorships: BoldlyGo is a sponsor of The Planetary Society’s LightSail2 Launch

  • Cooperative Research Agreements: NASA, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, University of Arizona, Princeton University, Mission Centaur

BoldlyGo Academy Leadership


Robert Lasky, BoldlyGo Academy

Program Director of BoldlyGo Academy, has over twenty five years of program, practice, and entrepreneurial leadership experience, including as Founder and CEO of MediaVentureNetwork, Founder and Managing Partner of Porterhouse Digital, Strategy Lead at Colangelo, Program Manager at Verizon, Practice Lead at US Interactive and BusinessEdge, and Producer at Viacom.

Board of Directors


Dr. Jon Morse, BoldlyGo Institute

Chief Executive Officer and Chair of the Board, has over a decade of leadership in space organizations, including as Director of Astrophysics in the Science Mission Directorate at NASA Headquarters, as Senior Policy Analyst in the White House Office of Science & Technology Policy, and as Project Scientist for the Cosmic Origins Spectrograph aboard the Hubble Space Telescope.


Dr. Laurie Leshin, Worcester Polytechnic Institute

President of Worcester Polytechnic Institute and is on the science team for NASA’s Mars Curiosity Rover. She was Deputy Center Director for Science & Technology at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center, and Deputy Associate Administrator of the Exploration Systems Mission Directorate at NASA Headquarters.


Dr. Meenakshi Wadhwa, Arizona State University

Director of the Arizona State University’s Center for Meteorite Studies and Professor in the School of Earth and Space Exploration. She uses state-of-the-art facilities and techniques to study Solar System materials, including as a member of NASA’s Genesis mission. She serves on the National Academies Space Studies Board.


Dr. Mark Jackson, Singularity University

Faculty at Singularity University, lecturing on topics including quantum computing and space exploration. He is also Founder and CEO of Fiat Physica, a crowdfunding platform devoted to the advancement of physics, astronomy and space exploration. He received his Ph.D. in theoretical physics from Columbia University and has 15 years of research experience in superstring theory and cosmology.


Jeremy Hitchcock

Founder and former CEO of Dyn in Manchester, NH. He is also an active angel investor, a Pillar CEO at Pillar.vc and is associated with several other Boston and NYC based VC firms. He has written for various news publications and has spoken globally on building technology ecosystems, running bootstrapped hyper growth companies, developing culture, and STEM education.

Senior Advisors


Mr. Steven Battel, Battel Engineering

President of Battel Engineering, with internationally recognized expertise in program management and space systems engineering for Earth observing, space physics, astronomy and planetary applications. He is a National Associate of the National Research Council, a Fellow of the AIAA, a Senior Member of IEEE, and most recently elected to the National Academy of Engineering.


Dr. Adam Frank, University of Rochester

Professor of astrophysics at the University of Rochester. His computational astrophysics group studies star formation, stellar evolution and exoplanets. He is also co-founder of NPR’s 13.7: Cosmos and Culture blog, an on-air commentator for All Things Considered and an occasional contributor to the New York Times.


Dr. Scott Parazynski, Arizona State University

Former astronaut who flew on five Space Shuttle flights during a 17 year NASA career. He is University Explorer and Professor of Practice in the Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering and School of Earth and Space Exploration at Arizona State University, was Chair of the Challenger Center for Space Science Education, and most recently elected to the Astronaut Hall of Fame.

Urgency of Discovery

The progress of scientific discovery and exploration is a flame that burns brightly in our society and underlies our prosperity.

As scientists, engineers and explorers committed to advancing human knowledge and civilization, we are compelled to make this effort to open new paths to discovery, to achieve historic firsts in our quest to understand and explore the cosmos, to generate new opportunities for innovation and efficiency in spacecraft development, to expand the pool of resources available for space science beyond the government coffers, and to create new levels of public access and engagement in scientific research from space – and to do these things as soon as possible!